previous GB archives   :    
  call for proposal   participant proposals > final project archives
  related events   biennale schedule   press coverage
  resources   sponsors   the blog



Erin Durban & Shannon Randall


When we applied to the 2nd Ghetto Biennale, we proposed to use mobile fiber art to "knit the city" of Port‐au‐Prince in an all ages, transnational collaboration with Haitian artists and other participants in the Ghetto Biennale. We held three crochet workshops; each was well attended by a wide range of Ghetto Biennale participants. Although we had planned to create and install yarn bombs with the workshop participants we found that we had not allowed enough time for that goal to materialize. However, the workshops were successful and fun. All the participants (including Erin and Shannon) were able to work together and learn from each other.

We also promised to yarn bomb the site where the Christopher Columbus statue used to stand. We wanted our installation piece to connect the geopolitics of Haiti with the politics of the Mexico/U.S. border. We were unable to access that site. We decided to create a cape for Neg Mawon, to reference his superhero status. We connected Haiti and the Mexico/U.S. border through the global commodity chain. We made t-shirt yarn from used t-shirts. We crocheted and sewed the t-shirts together to create the cape.





[back to top]


Enquiries & questions contact: Leah Gordon at:




A*BOUT A BOOK: Silke Bauer, Irina Novarese & Viola Thiele

Allison Rowe

Anderson Family: Peter Anderson, Clare Cameron, Esme Anderson & Mary Anderson

Anna Bruisma

Candice Lin, Phillip Mayles & Racine Polycarpe

Cary Cronenwett

Cat Barich

Charlotte Hammond

Crystal Nelson

Erin Durban & Shannon Randall

Floris Schonfeld

Frau Fiber & Jonas Labaze

Fungus Collective

Ghetto Architects: Vivian Chan, Maccha Kasparian, Yuk Yee Phang

Gina Cunningham &
Emmy Cunningham

Jakmel Eksperyans:
Ivy McClelland

Jana Braziel

Jason Metcalf

John Cussans & Alex Louis

Jurate Jarulyte

Karen Miranda Augustine & Ketty Paul

Kendra Frorup

Kwynne Johnson & Paul Klein

Laura Hayman

Liz Woodroffe

Maureen Tovey & Arcade Fire

Militza Jean-Felix

Michael Massenburg

Natalia Matta

OKIPASYON: Joyce Ip, Jason Metcalf & Roberto Peyre

Pascal Giacomini

Piroska É Kiss

Rebecca Dirksen

Robert Gomez &
Romel Jean Pierre

Sarah Delaney

Sasha Huber & Petri Saarikko

Schallum Pierre

Toni Sanon

Tracey Moberly


Enquiries and questions contact
Leah Gordon at: