previous GB archives   :    
  call for proposal   participant proposals > final project archives
  related events   biennale schedule   press coverage
  resources   sponsors   the blog



OKIPASYON: Joyce Ip, Jason Metcalf & Roberto Peyre


OKIPASYON is a short film (currently in post-production) that was shot during and as a project of the Second Ghetto Biennale in Port-au-Prince, Haiti in December 2011. The piece is a collaboration between Joyce Ip, Roberto Peyre, and Jason Metcalf.

The film investigates the notion of "occupation" in relation to contemporary Haitian life, and was born out of a dialogue surrounding the global Occupy movement.

The film reveals that in Haiti, the term "okipasyon" is multiplicitous in meaning and includes - although is not limited to - the occupation of hundreds of thousands of Haitians in tents throughout Port-au-Prince and around the country, the past and present occupation of foreign military forces, occupation (or lack thereof) of a job, occupation in terms of Vodou Lwa spirit possession, and occupation of the grave by hundreds of thousands who lost their lives in the earthquake, among others.




































[back to top]


Enquiries & questions contact: Leah Gordon at:




A*BOUT A BOOK: Silke Bauer, Irina Novarese & Viola Thiele

Allison Rowe

Anderson Family: Peter Anderson, Clare Cameron, Esme Anderson & Mary Anderson

Anna Bruisma

Candice Lin, Phillip Mayles & Racine Polycarpe

Cary Cronenwett

Cat Barich

Charlotte Hammond

Crystal Nelson

Erin Durban & Shannon Randall

Floris Schonfeld

Frau Fiber & Jonas Labaze

Fungus Collective

Ghetto Architects: Vivian Chan, Maccha Kasparian, Yuk Yee Phang

Gina Cunningham &
Emmy Cunningham

Jakmel Eksperyans:
Ivy McClelland

Jana Braziel

Jason Metcalf

John Cussans & Alex Louis

Jurate Jarulyte

Karen Miranda Augustine & Ketty Paul

Kendra Frorup

Kwynne Johnson & Paul Klein

Laura Hayman

Liz Woodroffe

Maureen Tovey & Arcade Fire

Militza Jean-Felix

Michael Massenburg

Natalia Matta

OKIPASYON: Joyce Ip, Jason Metcalf & Roberto Peyre

Pascal Giacomini

Piroska É Kiss

Rebecca Dirksen

Robert Gomez &
Romel Jean Pierre

Sarah Delaney

Sasha Huber & Petri Saarikko

Schallum Pierre

Toni Sanon

Tracey Moberly


Enquiries and questions contact
Leah Gordon at: